First Post.

Introductions:

Hello World.

I’m Dave. I’m 31, married father of 2, and a biochemist – more specifically a protein crystallographer. I try to get atomic resolution (I.e. you can see the atoms) structural information about proteins and other biological molecules that make us what we are. My interests centre around glycosaminoglycans – rather obscure carbohydrate polymers that have a wide range of important biological roles, from inflammatory response, ovulations, joint mechanics, would healing and so on.

I’m getting towards the end of my second postdoctoral post, and I am about to embark on a journey to make the leap from lab monkey to lab leader. This involves submitting fellowship applications to various funding bodies, outlining my research to-date and my research plans for the future, and hopefully getting them to give me copious amounts of money to fund my research.

This blog will contain musing and observations on this process, as well as a various science-y based stuff I collect from ‘teh internetz’.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

